FIFTY SHADES OF GREY By E.L.James

There are a lot of books are about risque’ sex out there, so I’m not sure why this book was such a hit. An emotionally scarred zillionaire takes his issues out on a young woman just out of college in one of the most dysfunctional books ever. Whips and chains aside, the guy seriously needs therapy. He’s a control freak who doesn’t understand the concept of love so he finds an innocent young woman to dominate sexually. Nothing wrong with dominant/submissive sex if you’re into that, but “Fifty Shades of Grey” is mostly about a man who cannot emotionally connect with a young girl who will do anything to receive his love. This makes it a sad story in my book. Not sure what all the fuss is about. You can find kinky sex anywhere. From a psychological stand-poin,t it’s appalling.

3 thoughts on “FIFTY SHADES OF GREY By E.L.James

  1. I never read it, but what I’ve heard about it never made me understand the mass appeal.

  2. Cyndi, I feel like we would totally be friends in real life. I have the same feelings towards the book, and think it’s a bit of a tosser, really. My sister loves these style of books and this book in general and my other sister agrees with me. So you could imagine how dinner went the evening I brought up your post! We toast to you! 🙂

    • That’s a great compliment! I’m so glad that you can relate to my views. This book created quite a sensation, and although it’s a genre I never read, I thought I should because of the hype. As a former social worker, it disturbed me on many levels. I did not see an erotica story, I saw a control freak with serious issues. Of course, that’s just MY opinion. I can imagine your dinner table was quite rousing. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought this book was a bust.

Leave a Reply

